The Bill of Rights guarantees our right to bear arms. Washington state law affirms this right, however, with some limitations, restrictions and regulations. If you are charged with a weapons offense in Washington State, you could be facing jail time and a permanent mark on your record. And WA courts can be tough in prosecuting firearms offenses. You need an experienced defense lawyer on your side to protect and defend your rights under the law.Charged with a crime in Washington? Call now. (888) 205-9314.
If you are accused of possession a weapon not registered to you, or if someone left a weapon in your vehicle, you could be facing serious felony charges for something that is not your fault.
Our attorneys have successfully defended weapons charges in Washington criminal courts. We can discuss the specifics of your case as part of a free legal consultation in order to tell you the best way to proceed.
Washington State Unlawful Firearms Laws
There are certain firearms that are completely illegal in Washington. If you are caught with a short barreled shotgun, a machine gun, or a short-barreled rifle you may be charged accordingly.
This offense is a Class C felony and is punishable by up to one year in prison and fines. A felony like this is a permanent blemish on your criminal record.
Ref: RCW 9.41.190
Washington “Dangerous Weapons” Laws & Penalties
Some items are considered too dangerous to be lawfully carried. These include: slingshots, brass or metal knuckles, switchblades, or firearm silencers. If you are caught in possession of or attempting to sell or manufacture any of these weapons you can be charged with this criminal offense.
Possession of a dangerous weapon is a gross misdemeanor punishable by 90 days to one year in jail and fines reaching as high as $5,000.
Ref: RCW 9.41.250
Unlawful Possession of a Firearm in Washington State – Laws & Penalties
If you have been convicted of certain criminal offenses in the past, you are not legally able to possess a firearm. If you have a felony charge on your record and are caught in possession of any firearm, whether loaded or not, you may face an additional felony.
Depending on your criminal history Unlawful Possession of a Firearm can be classified as serious as a Class B felony. This seriousness level III felony carries a potential sentence of 1-43 months in prison and fines reaching into the several thousands.
Ref: RCW 9.41.040
Carrying a Concealed Firearm
Unless you are licensed to carry a concealed firearm, it is against the law in Washington state. If you are found with a firearm on your person or concealed within your vehicle, you can be charged with this offense.
Being in possession of a concealed firearm is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.
Ref: RCW 9.41.050
Free Consultation on any Washington State Criminal Gun/Firearms/Weapon Charge
We know about the stress that you’re under when facing charges like these. We understand that you are probably unsure of your next move. Getting in touch with an experienced defense lawyer is a smart place to start. We can go over your options to defend yourself, and help explain what you are up against, and what the likely results could be. Call us for a consultation on your Washington weapons charges today.