Driving On a Suspended License
Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is a surprisingly serious criminal offense in Washington state. There is a real risk of jail time for this charge under some conditions and circumstances.
We understand how difficult it can be to get by without a driver’s license, and that maybe you didn’t have any other options available to you.
Or maybe you weren’t aware that your license was under suspension. There may have been a misunderstanding, or a notification problem from the DOL.
But whatever happened, you are facing a serious criminal offense that needs to be dealt with promptly and aggressively.
We will fight to save your license, and get you back on the road as quickly as possible.
Please contact us for a free consultation on your criminal and license problems.
Washington Revoked/Suspended License Laws
In Washington, the charge you face for driving on a suspended license largely depends on why your license was suspended in the first place.
First Degree Driving While License Suspended or Revoked
If you are a habitual offender, or have had 3 or more convictions of such offenses as DUI, reckless driving, negligent driving, or prior driving on suspended license convictions, you may face first degree driving while license suspended or revoked.
First degree driving while license suspended or revoked is a gross misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of one year in jail and fines up to $5,000. There are mandatory minimum jail sentences for this first degree offense.
First conviction: No less than 10 days in jail
Second conviction: No less than 90 days
Third and subsequent convictions: No less than 180 days
Ref: Habitual Offender RCW 46.65.020
Second Degree Driving While License Suspended or Revoked
Driving while license suspended 2nd degree is considered a gross misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $5,000. In order to be charged with this offense, your license must have been originally suspended for one of the following offenses:
Third Degree Driving While License Suspended or Revoked
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended or revoked solely because you have not taken the steps to have it reinstated or because you have failed to appear at a hearing or traffic infraction, you may be charged with 3rd degree driving while license suspended.
Driving with a suspended license in the 3rd degree is a misdemeanor and punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.
Ref: RCW 46.20.342
Get Some Legal Help With a Driving on a Suspended License Charge in Washington
If you are being charged with driving on a suspended license, you may already have a criminal record from whatever cause the original suspension. You may still be on probation.
These are complicated and serious criminal legal issues. You need good counsel to help you get the best possible results in court. We are here to help, so call us today for a no-obligation criminal defense consultation.