DUI – Second (and Subsequent) Offenses

If you’ve be convicted of a DUI charge before, and are now facing a second offense DUI,  you probably know that the stakes are going up significantly. Washington criminal courts do not go easy on accused drunk drivers, and judges can be particularly harsh in cases of repeat charges.

Charged with a crime in Washington? Call now. (888) 246-5778.
call_now

The selection of the best DUI defense lawyer you can get can be crucial in these cases. When the system is looking at you like a hardened criminal, you need someone on your side who will fight for your rights, and protect you from the worse outcomes.

We have successfully defended clients against false and unfair drunk driving charges, and assisted clients in getting the best possible outcomes on their day in court.

Our attorneys are dedicated to drunk driving and criminal defense, nad interested in helping you with your case. We want to explore the circumstances that surrounded your arrest and the charges you are now facing. We will uncover any possible legal defense and reasonable doubt that can get your case dismissed, or result in a not guilty verdict.

Washington DUI Laws – 2nd Offense

The drunk driving laws in Washington state are similar to DUI laws around the country.

You may be charged with DUI if you drive a vehicle and are found to have a blood alcohol level of more than .08 or if you are under the influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor and/or drug.

Ref: RCW 46.61.502

Does this mean I can be charged with DUI without having submitted to a breathalyzer?

Yes! The police in Washington can use their best judgment when making a DUI arrest and a breath test is just one of the things they can use. Your driving, behavior at the time of arrest, and field sobriety tests can all be used against you when it comes time to go to court.

Second Offense DUI Penalties in Washington State

What kind of sentence am I facing? is the most common first question in the case of 2nd, 3rd, or greater DUI charges.

If you are convicted of DUI, your sentence depends on how many prior DUI convictions you have on your record in the past 7 years and how high your blood alcohol level was at the time of your arrest. Higher BAC results will mean stiffer DUI penalties.

If your blood alcohol content was less than .15:

One prior conviction within past 7 years.

Two or more convictions within past 7 years.

Jail Time 30-365 Days (30 days mandatory minimum) 90-365 Days (90 days mandatory minimum)
Electronic Monitoring 90 days 120 days
Fines $500- $5,000 $1,000- $5,000
Drivers License 2 year revocation 3 year revocation

The judge may also order you to attend drug/alcohol education classes and have an ignition interlock device installed on your car.

If your blood alcohol content was more than 0.15 or if you refused to submit to a breath test:

One prior conviction within past 7 years.

Two or more convictions within past 7 years.

Jail Time 45-365 Days (45 days mandatory minimum 120-365 Days (120 days mandatory minimum)
Electronic Monitoring 90 days 150 days
Fines $750- $5,000 $1,500- $5,000
Drivers License 2 year revocation (3 yrs. if you refused a breath test) 4 year revocation

The judge may also order you to attend drug/alcohol education classes and have an ignition interlock device installed on your car.

A DUI conviction can stay on your driving record for 15 years. It can affect your insurance rates and your reputation. When you are facing charges as serious as these you should put your faith in a firm with experience and compassion. Call for a consultation on your case today.

Be Sociable, Share!