Disorderly Conduct Laws
In Washington you may be charged with disorderly conduct for a number of reasons. These offenses are referred to as public disturbances. While they may not be considered a serious offense by some, they canCharged with a crime in Washington? Call now. (888) 246-5778.
result in jail time and are a permanent mark on your record.
If you have never been charged with a crime, the whole process can be quite intimidating, especially if you were taken into custody. Your best first move is to contact a qualified and experienced defense attorney that can help you through the process.
We have handled many disorderly conduct cases in Washington and have probably handled a few very similar to yours. We understand, however, that every case is different, and we want to hear about yours.
We understand that mistakes happen and perhaps you regret what led you to this charge. We also know that you might feel like your side of the story is not being heard. We can make sure that your rights are protected and your interests are looked out for when facing charges like these.
And this is absolutely a subjective charge where you can be arrested more for just annoying the police than for actually breaking the law. We can help argue this, and in many cases, get charges dismissed.
Please contact us for your free legal consultation on disorderly conduct charges in Washington.
Washington Disorderly Conduct Laws & Penalties
There are a variety of actions that can get you charged with disorderly conduct. If you do any of the following, you may be found guilty of this misdemeanor:
- Use abusive language that creates a risk of assault,
- Disrupt any lawful assembly or meeting,
- Intentionally obstruct traffic without authority,
- Engage in fighting or make unreasonable noise within 500 feet of a funeral, wake, burial, or memorial service.
This misdemeanor carries a potential sentence of up to 90 days in jail and fines of up to $1,000.
Ref: RCW 9A.84.030
Washington Failure to Disperse Laws & Penalties
Also considered a public disturbance is the offense of failure to disburse. If you congregate with three or more people in a manner that creates a risk of injury to another person or to property or you fail to disperse when ordered to do so by a police officer you may be charged with this offense.
Failure to disperse is also a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines of up to $1,000.
Ref: RCW 9A.84.020
Obstruction of a Public Servant
Obstructing of a public servant law enforcement officer is a similar misdemeanor criminal charge. It applies to police officers, emergencies responders such as firefighters or EMTs, or other public servants.
WA Riot Laws & Penalties
Despite what many people think, a riot does not have to involve a huge group of people. You can be charged with rioting in a group as small as 3 people. Washington law defines rioting as acting with three or more people and knowingly using or intending to use force or participating in the use of such force against any other person or property.
Rioting is a gross misdemeanor under Washington law and carries a potential sentence of one year in jail and fines of up to $5,000.
If you are armed with a deadly weapon when the offense occurs you are looking at felony charges that could get you as many as 5 years in prison dependant on your past convictions.
Ref: RCW 9A.84.010
Get a Criminal Case Evaluation and Defense Consultation on any Disorderly Criminal Charge in WA
No criminal charge is a minor criminal charge, especially if it is yours. When you are looking at a permanent mark on your record, all charges are serious. Potential jail time simply multiplies the seriousness of the charges you are facing.
No one can tell you how to handle your life but a skilled attorney can give you expert advice on how to handle your case. We can be the team looking out for your interests and representing you on your day in court. Call for a consultation today.