Any criminal charge is a serious matter with potentially life-changing repercussions. But, when you are accused of something as serious as burglary, the stakes are high. You aren’t only looking at potential prison time, but the difficulties that go along with carrying a felony conviction on your record for years to come.Charged with a crime in Washington? Call now. (888) 246-5778.
When you are up against charges like this, you want someone on your side who is interested in getting you the best results possible, minimizing the negative impact these charges have on your life. Fortunately, we may be able to help.
Washington State Burglary Laws and Penalties
There are several different laws regarding burglary in the Washington statutes. While this page can provide a general overview, discussing your case with a local criminal defense lawyer is the best way to know for certain what you’re up against.
Second Degree Burglary
Burglary in the second degree is defined as entering a building (other than a vehicle or dwelling) with the intent to commit a crime against a person or property inside. This offense is classified as a Class B Felony.
A Class B Felony typically carries up to 10 years in prison and $20,000 in fines.
First Degree Burglary
Burglary in the first degree is the charge you could be facing if you are accused of entering or remaining unlawfully in a building and intending to commit a crime against a person or property within, while either:
- Being armed with a deadly weapon, or
- Assaulting any person.
This offense is classified as a Class A Felony and can carry up to life in prison and $50,000.
Residential burglary is when you enter or unlawfully remain in a dwelling. It is classified as a Class B Felony, carrying up to 10 years in prison and $20,000 in fines. Despite being classified similarly to Second Degree Burglary, this offense is considered a more serious crime.
Manufacturing or Possessing Burglar Tools
Any tool that can assist in the commission of a burglary, including false keys, lock picks, and similar items, can be illegal to possess when it can be inferred that the tool(s) was in fact intended for such a purpose.
This offense is a Gross Misdemeanor, which carries up to 1 year in jail and fines reaching $5,000.
Any burglary charge is a serious burglary charge, and when you are accused of an offense like this, there’s a lot on the line. Contact our offices today to see how we might be able to help you during this difficult time.